Remove System Restore Checkpoints For source machines running in Windows XP or later, VMware recommends that you remove all System Restore checkpoints, regardless of the cloning mode, unless you want the target virtual machine to be a replica of the source system. System Restore is enabled on Windows Vista and Windows XP systems by default. For Windows Vista, if you are performing volume-based file-level cloning, System Restore checkpoints are automatically removed from the target virtual machine, regardless of whether the check box is selected or deselected. If you are performing disk-based cloning or volume-based block-level cloning, deselecting the check box instructs Converter to keep the System Restore check points in the target virtual machine. Removing all System Restore checkpoints prevents the target machine from reverting to a preconversion state. Restoring a checkpoint in the target virtual machine that was created before cloning the source machine can damage the system and cause the target virtual machine to become unbootable. Procedure 1 On the View/Edit Options page, click Advanced options. 2 Select Remove System Restore checkpoints on destination. 3 Select another option to set or click Next to view a summary of the conversion task. Converter Standalone does not copy the system restore checkpoints from the source to the destination virtual machine.